jump to navigation

Hello?… Are you still there? May 15, 2011

Posted by 5 Wester in General Announcements.
trackback

Wow! It’s been a while since I’ve made any entries on this so-called blog of mine. The last entry I see was back in November of 2010, can you believe it?! At the moment, I am undergoing transition in my life that has significantly rearranged my priorities. Time has a way of making you stop, look back, reconsider, and plan for the future. Looking at the present and the not so distant future, I came to realize that we have but a short time, and unfortunately, we are not getting any younger. What we have missed in the past is long gone. The time to start something, if we were to start anything at all, would be now! Now’s the time to be happy… now’s the time to live healthy… now’s the time to celebrate life. I’ve always wondered why people say “Life begins at 40!”. In 2 years, I will get there. I’ve never understood what that saying meant until now. I guess we get so busy “building a career” in our 20s and 30s, we forget that there is life to live. Then it dawns on us by the time we hit 40, that life is too short to squander in trivial pursuits. Talk about a rude self-realization awakening! Thus, I find myself at the cross roads of my life… performing a self assessment of my last 39 years spent on this earth…. and like the great King Solomon said, “…vanity of vanities, all is vanity!” (Ecc 1:2). Well… enough said…. moving on… nothing to see here.

Having said what I’ve said, I’ve decided to steer this blog onto a whole new direction. Of course, you might see an occasional rant here and there, however, I’ve decided to share my life experiences and hopefully extract the lessons I’ve learned to helps someone that may be traveling the same road. Looking back at my life, I could say that I would have been better off if I had a guide, nevertheless, I believe it’s not too late to change course. Thus, we shall pick up where we left off and head out in a whole new direction, and hopefully the path we blaze can help others find their way… here goes…

Comments»

1. Laura Marsan - June 15, 2011

I found your blog during a google search for nurse blogs. I am writing to you and your readers now now as I am
attempting to reach as many nurses as I can for help with a project. As you will see below, my request is not specifically relevant to your site, but I was hoping that by reaching out to many nurses, I might receive a range of feedback.

My name is Laura Marsan. I’m a nurse and second-year graduate student in journalism at Columbia University. I am currently researching and writing my thesis about bullying in health care, specifically among nurses and how this affects patient outcomes.

I have read many studies that suggest a connection between units known for a culture of bullying and higher mortality rates, especially in ICU settings. However, finding actual examples with supportive data has been
difficult. I am working with an adviser from The New York Times. While I have seen workplace bullying (and experienced it), my adviser, has recommended that unless I am able to quantify a connection, either through a current legal case or a case study of a hostile unit with
documented poor outcomes, that this story may not be of interest to a readership beyond nurses. As a member of 3.1 million nurses whose role is to advocate for the medically vulnerable, my instincts tell mevthat this is a profoundly significant story, that if framed correctly would be of interest to people everywhere.

I am writing now to ask anyone reading this of a specific case you know about. It may be about you. Or, readers, about you. Or someone you know (or heard about). While workplace bullying is not illegal, as such, “intent to inflict emotional harm” gets mentioned in lots of whistleblower cases. I want to tell a story of a nurse who
was bullied and what consequences this had on patient care.

I am also interested in any data (academic or otherwise) that anyone might have possibly linking a toxic workplaces with poor patient outcomes.

My email address is lam2208@columbia edu. My phone number is 513-375-6328.

Thanks!

Sincerely,

Laura

2. nurse salary - October 22, 2011

at 38 you are making right decision

hope all the luck with you


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

