jump to navigation

Attention Walmart shoppers!… October 15, 2007

Posted by 5 Wester in General Announcements.
trackback

img_0058_2.jpg

I love a bargain! Who doesn’t? You know what I’m talking about… You get in the store and that iPod is only $199, list price $299. Or you buy a pair of shoes and you get the second pair half off. We all like getting things for less, especially in today’s economy. However, you probably have heard this saying before, “you get what you paid for”, and for the most part this is always true. We often have this perception that we “save” money by getting cheap stuff, however, this is not the case.

Imagine working with a patient one day and your pair of vinyl gloves rip exposing your fingertips while you clean up a bloody wound, or like in my case, while I was replacing a patient’s GT feeding. Not good! It could have been worse… responding to a code brown and discovering that your index finger just got dabbed with who knows what while you were doing the clean up. Where did all the latex gloves go? I guess in their quest to save, they figured that cheap stuff is the way to go. I don’t think this helps, especially if you need to wear two pairs of gloves every time you work with your patient… that’s twice as much supplies that is needed to do a simple task. I just don’t find any justification for getting cheap stuff, especially if it is personal protective equipment. It’s like a police officer donning on a cheap bulletproof vest because it was “on sale”. This is suicide!

As repugnant as this may be, we still have to work with whatever we have. What do we do? Simple… jump on the bandwagon of saving a penny so we can waste more supplies, i.e., use twice as much supplies as you normally would need. Now I know why we have 3 sizes of gloves (large, medium, small) at all times… you put on the small gloves first, then the medium, then the large, then pray that they don’t rip on you while you do peri care! 🙂

Comments»

1. motherjones-rn - October 26, 2007

Amen! Cheap is no good when it comes to safety in the workplace. I’m hosting Change of Shift next week at Nurse Ratched’s Place. Please write to me at nurseratchedsplace@yahoo.com and let me know if I can include this post in next week’s roundup.

MJ

2. Ali - November 1, 2007

I have to wonder if we work in the same hospital… that could have been my hand many times before. The white gloves are horrid. I miss the coloured nitrile gloves that we used at the hospital where I went to school. They were practically bulletproof!

3. Deb aka ondrun - November 2, 2007

I don’t know how it is at your hospital, but I know many hospitals have gone totally latex free due to so many with latex allergies. That may be the reason for the diappearance of the latex gloves and the replacements with the vinyl ones.
ondrun – one with a bad latex allergy

4. martygrn - November 3, 2007

Latex gloves have gone away due to the prevalence of latex-allergies. Vinyl gloves cost the same if not slightly more than latex, but don’t have the allergy issues. The cost saving issue comes in the sense that it is cheaper for the hospital to stock one kind of glove (vinyl) rather than both vinyl and latex. My 5 yr old son is allergic to latex, to an anaphylactic point, and it makes me much more comfortable to know that most hospitals have gone latex-free for purposes of patient safety. I am more comfortable knowing that someone won’t accidentally put on latex gloves when he is hospitalized, which he has been 15 times in his 5 yrs.

5. personel protection equipment - July 7, 2011

Liked the comparison to the bullet proof vest. very good point tho but there are cheap items that are normally better than the more expensive ones.


Leave a Reply

