jump to navigation

It’s Christmas… Christmas… December 19, 2009

Posted by 5 Wester in General Announcements.
trackback

Ah, Christmas… that time of the year when we spread good cheer and rush to get our holiday shopping done before all the good gift items are sold out… that time where we plan those parties and gift exchanges… that time when we dust off the old tree and decorate it with ornaments, candy cane, and lights… that time of the year when all they play on the radio are Christmas carols and songs about reindeers, Santa, and snow. Yup, Christmas.

I remember growing up as a child, we always looked forward to Christmas… after all, school’s out, we get to eat good food, and most of all, we get to open presents from  under the tree. There was this one Christmas when I was about 7 years old, I did something bad that really upset my mom. I don’t remember what I did, but I remember that I was sobbing profusely asking her to forgive me because I didn’t want to be on Santa’s “naughty” list. 😦 I hate to admit it, but yes, we thought Santa was real. 🙂 So much for that…

I don’t know about you, but as I got older, the “magic” of Christmas seem to fade. And through the years, what’s supposed to be a season of “joy” becomes a season of stress… Is the tree up yet? Did we get presents for everyone on the list? What do I need to bring for our Christmas party? Did we mail out the all the Christmas cards yet? And to make matters worse, we’re in a recession, millions are jobless, and the future has never been so uncertain as it is today. Where did the “magic” go? What changed? Is it true, that the “joy” of Christmas is directly proportional to the balance in your bank account?

As I thought about this, I realize that the “magic” has always been there. What changed was my attitude towards Christmas. As we get older, we lose the innocence of a child and all of a sudden, the demands of life gets to us. Christmas isn’t “fun” anymore… we get “Christmas burnout”… unfortunately, we tend to focus on the wrong things and it sucks the joy out of the season… not to mention the fact that it is true… the “joy” of Christmas is directly proportional to the balance of your bank account! 🙂

I’ve decided that I need an attitude adjustment. I’ve decided not to be stressed during this time of year. I’ve decided that Christmas will be a greater celebration at our house. It will be a celebration of Jesus’ birth… it will be a celebration of His love for us, that despite the fact that we are but a speck in this vast universe, that He came down, as a baby so that He can make the ultimate sacrifice to save us from eternal separation from Him. It will be a celebration of His mercy and kindness which we would also extend to our fellow men. It will be a time where the family gets together, to look back and count the blessings God has given us throughout the year, and to look forward with great anticipation for the year ahead because…

For to us a child is born,
       to us a son is given,
       and the government will be on his shoulders.
       And he will be called
       Wonderful Counselor,  Mighty God,
       Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Isaiah 9:6

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

